What Conditions Qualify For Social Security Disability?

What Conditions Qualify For Disability

The Social Security Administration (SSA) awards Social Security Disability benefits based on the type of disabling condition the claimant is suffering from. These are conditions that affect an individuals ability to gain substantial employment. The SSA's impairment listing manual, also known as the "Blue Book," contains a list of these conditions. If you are suffering from one of these conditions, then you maybe eligible to receive Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) or Supplemental Security Income (SSI). Fill out your information to receive a free case evaluation. Start the disability benefits process today.

Here are a few examples of There are many conditions that can qualify for disability benefits.

List of Disabilities

  • Musculoskeletal issues, for example fractures to the back.
  • Cardiovascular conditions, such as coronary artery disease or heart failure.
  • Sense and voice difficulties, such as vision impairment and hearing loss.
  • Breathing conditions, such as COPD.

Further Reading: What Conditions Qualify For Disability?

In addition to the disabling conditions, the SSA also has a list of 88 conditions that automatically qualify for disability benefits under the Compassionate Allowances program. The Compassionate Allowances program is intended to expedite the application process for those with severe medical conditions.

Listed below are the Disabling Conditions recognized by the SSA. These are conditions listed in the Blue Book that may qualify for Social Security disability benefits.

How To Qualify for Disability Benefits

In order to apply for Social Security Disability Benefits, you must first have worked in the US. You also must have a   medical disorder that fits the Social Security criteria of disability. In addition, you must be expected to be out of work for a year or longer.

The amount of job credits that you need when applying for SSDI depends on your age before you become ill. Generally, you require 40 credits, 20 of which have been obtained in the last 10 years of the year you became disabled. However, younger employees could be eligible with fewer credits.

Benefits normally continue until you are able to work on a daily basis again. There are also a set of special laws, named 'working incentives,' which allows you to continue receiving benefits and health care services to help you make the transition back to work.

If you receive Social Security Disability Payments before you reach maximum retirement age, the disability benefits will automatically be converted to retirement benefits, but the payment will remain the same.

What Conditions Automatically Qualify You For Disability Benefits?

The Social Security Administration (SSA) may approve your disability benefit application faster if it is on a list of conditions that automatically qualify you for a disability benefit. These medical conditions include the following list:

  • blood disorders, for example hemophilia or sickle cell disease;
  • cardiovascular conditions, for example coronary artery disease or chronic heart failure or
  • digestive tract problems, e.g. inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) or liver disease;
  • immune system disorders, for example kidney disease, lupus, HIV/AIDS or rheumatoid arthritis;
  • mental disorders, e.g. anxiety, autism, depression, intellectual disability or schizophrenia;
  • musculoskeletal problems, such as back conditions and other dysfunctions of the joints and bones;
  • neurological disorders, for example cerebral palsy, epilepsy, multiple sclerosis and Parkinson’s diseas
  • e;

  • respiratory illnesses, for example cystic fibrosis or asthma;
  • senses and speech issues, e.g. hearing loss or loss of vision.

Unfortunately, although the SSA maintains this list of disabilities that automatically qualify for a benefit, your disability benefit application must still be accompanied by medical evidence showing when the condition developed, how and when it was treated and current medical records showing the prognosis and any treatment including x-rays, tests and scans that are relevant to the disability.

If your disability benefit application is approved you will receive a monthly payment from the SSA either through the social security disability insurance (SSDI) scheme or the Supplemental Security Income (SSI) scheme, depending on work history, income, and assets. Continuation of the payment may also be dependent on providing regular medical updates to the SSA detailing the current state of your disability.

What if My Condition Isn't Listed

It's crucial to remember that your disability does not have to be on the SSA's list if you wish to apply for Social Security Disability benefits. You must, however, provide the SSA with a documented diagnosis of your disease that demonstrates it is a "medically determinable disability" that stops you from working and operating on a daily basis. This means that your condition must be serious enough to prevent you from working or carrying out your daily tasks. The term "residual functional capacity" refers to this capacity loss.

Cardiovascular System

Digestive System

Endocrine System

Genitourinary Impairments

Hematological Disorders

Immune System Disorders

Malignant Neoplastic Diseases

Mental Disorders

Multiple Body System Impairments

Musculoskeletal System

Neurological Problems

Respiratory System

Skin Disorders

Special Senses and Speech

What Are the Types of Social Security Disability Benefits?

There are two basic types of Social Security Benefits. The Social Security benefits that you can get are Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) and Supplemental Support Income (SSI). Both types of benefits are designed to help people who can’t work pay for their living expenses and basic necessities.

Social Security disability benefits, or SSDI, are only available to people who have worked in the past but can’t work now. When you work you pay Social Security taxes which are deducted from your paycheck. That qualifies you to receive disability benefits if you develop a medical condition that is recognized by the Social Security Administration and you can’t work any longer.

Supplemental Support Income benefits are paid on behalf of children or disabled adults who were never able to work because of their medical conditions. Parents who have children who are seriously ill can apply for SSI benefits on behalf of their child. Adults who are medically unable to work and have always been unable to work can also apply for SSI benefits. However, there is an income requirement that anyone applying for SSI benefits must meet before the application for benefits will be approved.

Further Reading: What Is SSI?

Applying For Social Security Benefits

Anyone who is applying for Social Security benefits, either disability benefits or SSI benefits, can apply for benefits online through the SSA’s website. If you need help filling out a claim form you can get help by making an appointment at your local SSA office and filling out a claim in person.

Additional Resources